A Songwriter’s Resume


TUNEFUL TODDLER

City by the Sea, New England


Objective: To be listened to, and to listen, rhythmically, lyrically, to the core

Summary of Qualifications:

A classically trained acoustic guitarist

A wordsmith whose first lines drop like rain onto the desert of her worrisome soul

A performer who looks back when the audience looks at her

Experience (Gigs):

Hootenannies for an Arts Cafe,  Various locations, Jan. 28, 2010, and dates prior

Fretnoise Songwriters in the Round, Local cabaret, Jan. 22, 2010

Summer Festival Showcase, Various locations, July 2007-2010

Soulful Remedies : Three Songwriters, Local church, June 2009

Open mics, Various locations, As often as possible

Discs:

Love Is Hard, Independent producer, 2010

Letting Go Independent producer, 2008

Education:

Collaborating with area musicians

Playing etudes for my father, but not getting it right; only able to play for him at his deathbed, a peaceful smile on his face

Riding on the inspiration of a crush, with too many songs to count, then writing my way out of it

Deciding in my mid-40s to perform after my high school best friend told me my song about letting go of a friend who could never be a lover was a good one

Studying poets and poetry all my life

Attending a teen center for creative youth one summer, 1977

Remote tutelage to the greats: Janis Ian, Tracy Chapman, Joni Mitchell, Lui Collins, Catie Curtis, Cat Stevens, Bob Dylan, Jackson Browne, Ian Anderson

Teasing my Mom as she made up the forgotten words to church hymns

Learning not to run from the hole in my heart, but not to fall in either

Community Activities

Prison music minister, 2007-08

Chapel guitarist with choir, 1997-2009; 1995-96, 1980-82

Organizations

Shoreline group, 2007-present

Interests & Activities

Playing with my cats; working my day job only as much as I have to; cooking; finding cool chord progressions; Scrabble; finding ways to avoid shoveling or mowing the lawn

4 thoughts on “A Songwriter’s Resume

  1. rdkalm

    Yeah, I’m not hiring you to do surgery with this resume, but then I don’t think you’re asking.

    So much depends on audience. The Burger King might not hire you, but if he’s anything like he comes across in his commercials, who knows what he is thinking. If you can sell frozen meat with a leering man in a mask, you can get creative with a resume.

    Starbucks might hire you. I think it’s on the application under availability. Gigs:

    If you are looking to perform at a Starbucks or anywhere, this resume could help you, but then they’d probably just want a demo right?

    Right, the demo… is really your resume in most situations, and a MySpace page. But this is still great. This is great for everyone to look at because it does nail credibility. It plays freely with the concept and opens up a lot of possibilities. Most people only think about putting their jobs on a resume, when our lives are so rich with other skill-building experiences these days. The notes about…

    (Somebody has to have that already right? A blog about music called notes? But I digress.)

    The notes about your mom and dad remind me of liner notes. This would work as a great About Me or bio page on your musician’s blog. You might even want to mention what your day job is. I’m not sure I buy the slight on your day job at the bottom. I feel you probably have a pretty solid work ethic. Why emulate the worst of the songwriter clichés?

    I’m not sure if it is the anonymity or breeziness working against parts of this. It would benefit a lot from some concrete descriptions – not various places or artists, but actual locations and names. Things like your real education stats and, again, your real job, provide a through line to your improvisations. Everything doesn’t have to be only music related. You can show you are not the lost and wandering bard.

    But you are right, anyone in any part of the music industry would have to follow his or her curiosity and meet with you.

    With resumes these days, it comes down to audience. A bio can be so many things. A resume should really be tailored to specific companies and individuals and goals and you can get creative.

    Do you really want to work for the guys who are the biggest sticklers for the old ways of doing things anyway? There are plenty of them, but there are plenty of Burger Kings too. It doesn’t mean I’m going to want Mike Myers for a boss.

  2. It’s cool you think we’d get along well based in part on this resume, (I think so too, based on your posts so far) but isn’t that interest something that might lead to an interview?

    So, if you would not interview me, let alone hire me, why not, what specifically is a barrier in the resume? I’ll probably need to rewrite it and it would help if I knew what is detracting from the presentation. Is it the limited experience or the breezy way I describe my “education,” for instance?

  3. I have been trying to look at these resumes as if I am an employer considering you for a job. I am not sure if that will work in this instance. As this resume is fun and very interesting to read, I am not sure it would entice me to bring you in for an interview. With that said, how many employers are looking to hire songwriters these days? Ah, gone are the days of Carol King, too bad huh?
    I really enjoy your writing and this resume tells me a lot about you as a person…a person I would get along with very well. And we would listen to some great music together. But I am not hiring you at my BurgerKing….unless we are looking for a new jingle, or course…and even then???? 🙂

Leave a Reply

