Another Day


Sometimes love hurts because it’s been misplaced, but we can’t see that at the time.

This is a song where the pain is acute. But time has passed. It speaks to me now as a song about isolation, not merely what the singer seeks out to escape her misery, but the isolation of experiencing one-sided love that was never meant to be.

Trying to act like it all doesn’t matter is just a weak way of coping, I see now.

Another Day

I’m going far away

Someplace where I know I can stay

Don’t think I’m coming back

We’ve gone too far off track

You have what my heart lacks

So I’m headed for the bay

To me it’s just another day

I’ll tell all the stories I can

Take up with some other woman

Just sleep til the sun’s first light

It’s all too hard to fight

It doesn’t matter who’s right

I’m headed for the bay

To me it’s just another day

Leave a Reply

