Getting into Musical Shape


I have a couple gigs coming up and have not been able to practice as intensely as I usually do because of tendonitis. Couple that with school, yard work and the normal, busy side of summer and you have a recipe for weak performances.

But I have a few aces up my sleeve.

First, it always helps to practice and perform with Mike Ball. I am excited because Mike accompanies me and his instrumentals, particularly on a new song, “Never,” and the way he jazzes up “Away” from my “Love Is Hard” CD make me sound way better than I do alone.

Naturally, practicing extra, alone, gives me peace of mind so, besides meeting with Mike, I am starting to tough it out by applying ice to the wrist and elbow, wearing an arm band that alleviates the pressure and just getting into musical shape.

The gigs are:

  • 5th Annual Shoreline Acoustic Music Festival, during Sailfest weekend, Friday, July 8, 6-10:30, at the Unitarian Universalist Church in New London, with Mike Ball! we go on at 9
  • Previews on Parade, sponsored by New London Main Street, Friday, July 15, 12:30 p.m., at the Parade in downtown New London, with Mike Ball!

Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

