Dance!


Confessional lyrics tend to flourish in downbeat moods.

This song is anything but.

I first met my friend Bobbi at a party, where a band was playing, and although she was a stranger, she grabbed me for a quick, dance-y spin. We later connected as friends and danced properly, on dance floors with others, together and alone. She loves to dance. I’ve learned to like it.

This song was written with her in mind, and though it suggests love, it is the love of friendship, the physical connection of a joyous mood.

Readers have asked for something upbeat and I’m glad to say I’ve written something that qualifies. 🙂

Dance

Dance with me tonight,

Take my hand and

Our joy will take flight

Just as we planned

Glide around the floor

And hold on tight

Music makes this world

Seem just alright.

Just spin as fast as you can

Take hold and watch me twirl

Yes, spin as fast as you can

Take hold and watch me whirl

Dance with me tonight

The band is playing

We can make it right

That’s what I’m saying

Glide around the floor

And hold on tight

Music makes this world

Seem just alright.

Leave a Reply

