Come Hang with Us: Roots Duo to Rock Friday


“Hanging out and picking” is how Ian and Dustin Meadows make music.

Roots influences from bluegrass, folk, traditional and even blues mark The Meadows Brothers’ sound, from Dylan and Johnny Cash to Justin Townes Earle and The Old Crow Medicine Show.

Give a listen to this original, “Steamboat,” and tell me it doesn’t set your feet to stomping.

The boys will be sharing a two-hour set with me Friday, June 15 from 5-7 at Captain’s Pizza, 8 Bank St., New London.

I asked them how they came to be a duo during the past year, and they referenced the usual drama associated with being in a bigger band and the fact that they just click musically.

“The reason we work so well,” Dustin says, “is definitely the fact that we are brothers: our harmonies blend and we can always connect at crucial moments.”

Ian plays guitar, banjo and lap steel. Dustin, a drummer since age 6, has lately begun to master guitar and harp.

Ian’s songwriting encompasses every type of inspiration songwriters get: from that “I-don’t-know-where-it-came-from” windfall to teen angst and the power of a story in a good book.

“I used to not really enjoy the stuff I write,” Ian says. “… But as my songwriting develops, I’m actually starting to write songs I can stand to listen to and that I’m proud of.”

Ian has promised to play impromptu lead on some of my songs Friday as well.

Modesty coupled with musical chops makes for a powerful combination. Come out to hear these chaps. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

