Sound Reasoning


As I wind up my summer run at Captain’s Pizza in New London and consider how to extend myself there and elsewhere in the fall, I find myself hunting for a portable sound system that delivers punch.

At one extreme (and I am looking admittedly at convenient sizes and the lower-priced end of the market), is the Bose L1 compact. At the other are amps with multiple channels and speakers with mixer heads.

What really has become my focus is not the equipment so much as the understanding I am gaining about why I am doing this.

Getting out to perform more at small venues, open mics, coffeehouses and restaurants has been a blessing. And I am looking forward to more of that. But my stint at Captain’s by no means generated any sort of huge following that would justify the expense of the high-end system, especially when I also need all the accessories — mics, cables, mic stands and such.

Tonight, I found a portable sound system I plan to try out soon that may do the trick, providing enough channels so that I can have vocalists and musicians join me comfortably, but not breaking the bank (or the back).

The research online and at stores has been educational. And as always, you get what you pay for. So whatever I spend, I want it to be worth it.

Stay tuned as I transition from a very stable, robust borrowed Yamaha system to something downsized but, I hope, just as robust and reliable.

And in the meantime, come hear Bruce McDermott and some of my tunes at Captain’s Friday, Aug. 24 from 5-7 p.m. Bring your appetite for food, drink and sound!

Leave a Reply

